KNO/WHY Breaks Down His New Album “Identity Self Indulgence”

If you aren’t already a fan of Las Vegas based DJ/Producer KNO/WHY after this interview, ( and after listening to his newest album), you’re damn sure about to be.

Justin, better known by his stage name KNO/WHY, isn’t stingy when it comes to adding a variety of blends to his sound. Seamlessly blending intense hits of hip hop, and a melodic balance of EDM isn’t something that comes easy for some, but he’s managed to do just that with the entirety of his new album, ” Identity Self Indulgence”.

Every track has a versatile and personalization of their own, and not to mention, half the the breakdowns got me right in the feels. Having a background in hip hop, KNO/WHY’s extensive knowledge illuminates throughout this album.


Artist Q&A

There are so many elements to the intro. Was the intro your way of giving us a glimpse of what to expect throughout the rest of the album?

Oh totally. See, if I didn’t have the intro then I don’t think the album would have made sense. The intro is vital because it describes what the whole album represents and the concept behind it. Each track is different in its own way and without tying it all together with an intro. The story wouldn’t make sense to the audience. And for me, each track means more than just a song. If you listen carefully to each track, you can hear parts of my personality imbedded into them. These are more than just tracks, these are me. Every different genre, style, sound, progression and melody. All of these attributes play a huge role in my previous identity crisis. And the intro prepares the listeners to experience that.

You don’t normally hear full rap lyrics in EDM music, and that was definitley a dope change of pace.Do you plan to incorporate rap into your music in future projects?

HA, heeellllll noooooo. I actually used to rap a lot back in my younger years, and I was apparently pretty good. But I just grew out of it. But when I made this track, that younger side just came out naturally. So decided why not and just played around with it. And it came out pretty fresh. I don’t really plan on doing it again, but if the vibe is right. Then why not?! I just thought that for this particular piece. It helped glue everything together. And I’m honestly pretty proud of it.

‘Cold Walls’ has to be my favorite track on this album, and the break down is ridiculous. The title indicates some major feels. What was going through your head when you were producing this track?

Cold Walls was a track that describes me as a person. Hot and cold. The track almost depicts controlled distortion with some heart felt lyrics. The beginning is smooth and sweet, and the further you get into it. It starts to contradict itself, or just adds tons of contrast, if you will. But mainly, the track describes how my depression usually just turns into either angry or resentment. And I think a lot of us can relate to that. And I think that’s what makes this track so great. Because it represents what a lot of us feel, and how we deal with our emotions. And at the end of the day, we get stuck inside of our heads, blocking everyone out. Just to be left with nothing but…Loneliness and Cold Walls.

Is there a track on this particular album that has the most meaning to you personally?

No, I think I made this whole piece because I WAS so overwhelmed. With myself, my emotions and life. And that’s why every track is different. Because these are emotions and sides of me that I’ve been battling with this past year. And it all came out the only way I know how to express it…Through art. 

How do you feel this album differs from anything else you’ve done thus far in your career?

I think it shows how versatile I am. And I wanted to present this album just how it is, so I can show other artists that it’s ok to be expressive. And to write what you feel and to never fear being judged for it. Some of my fans expect a certain sound, while others expect something totally different. And at the end of the day, I write what I feel. This art is for me, or else I’ll drive myself insane, if people like it, cool. But at the end of the day, it’s just me expressing myself. And for us artists, we get so caught up in wanting to make what other people might like, or just writing bangers. While all along we forget to just express ourselves. We are all unique in our own ways, and that’s totally ok. And I hope this album can inspire other artist’s to be the same.


What’s the meaning behind the title you’ve given your album: “Indentity Self Indulgence”

The album name is just a fancy word for ‘identity crisis’. Like, we all have so many personalities that we indulge in when we are around different friends, in different environments etc etc. And we sometimes get detached from who we really are when we do this so often. We want to be a certain someone around our parents, our friends, our coworkers. But then at the same time, battling with who we really think we are on the inside when everyone is gone. And this album, is just my own personal mental warfare that follows this concept.

With your sound being so eclectic, would you categorize your music into a specific edm genre?

 Ha, shoot. I’m honestly not sure? Maybe like hybrid? Because I make so many styles, but the sound design and style is always the same. I just get inspired by certain things or genres and then put my own spin on them. Usually ending in anything hybrid. It’s a double edged sword really, kuz its good that no one can easily gentrify me, but its bad because they cant. Welcome to the paradox hahah. 

Is there a track on this album you’re excited to peform live? ( If you haven’t done so already)

Yea Blacklight and Withdrawal is super fun to play live. And the crowds reaction is always super tight. They usually just stop dancing, put on a thizz face and scream “ooooooohhhhh”. Ha, so that’s pretty rad >.<. And honestly, that’s always kind of been my goal with writing songs that I know I would play out live. Like, I wanna make music that makes people stop and think “yo, wtf is going on right now?!” But like, in a good way!

LAST WORDS! The floor is yours here. Anything you would like to tell your listeners?

Honestly, I’d like to take a quick second to shout out everyone that has shown me so much love on this new piece. I really put myself in a vulnerable position by exposing certain sides of me like this. It wasn’t easy, but so many people have felt a deep connection with this album. And just knowing that, means I can literally die knowing that I did something for the world. And that makes all the depression, solitude, heart break, pain and suffering all worth it. So yea, I’d like to thank everyone that has listen to this album. It means the world to me. 

See, I don’t aspire to be a glamorous ideal DJ or anything. I just wanna try and make the world a better place through the only way I know how (art). So knowing that people can vibe with my tunes. Aggressive or chill. Makes my life worth living. I mean yea, we create for ourselves and to express. But when people can make some kind of connection with your art. It means a lot more. A lot more than words can ever describe. 

Other than that, this year has been great and next year is only getting better. So shout out to everyone that’s been rockin with me, ya’ll mean the world to me and its an honor to share my adventure with you. Keep it locked to KNO/WHY It was all worth following. </3

Listen to “Identity Self Indulgence on SoundCloud

Social Media:

Leave a comment