Kickin’ Off the Festival Season with DJ Joo Kang

It should come as no surprise, that Dubstep is quickly becoming more & more adamant in people’s playlists these days. Mine is definitely no exception.

The deeper into the world of Dub I go, the more hard-hitting and inspirational artists I’ve gotten the opportunity to cross paths with. My next feature, DJ Joo Kang is one of those artists.


Originally born in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, Adam Fitch AKA “DJ Joo Kang” sprouted his life (and later his music) roots right here on the West Coast in SoCal.

Originally working in both the hospitality and insurance fields, Adam, who already had a talent and love for the bass & guitar, discovered both a interest and a niche for music production.

Learning and mastering music in his bedroom eventually paid off in 2014, when a fellow guitarist took notice of his edm skills.

Cutting his teeth in House music, he eventually started transitioning to Trap with a dash of Dub in 2016. However, Dubstep became his Coup de Grace‘, feeling inspired by the energy that only a crowd full of headbangers can bring.

Sadly, Adam had put the music on hold, when his wife sadly passed away unexpectedly. But the music didn’t come to a complete halt. After he had time to process this traumatic loss, he did come back to the music world, where he expressed his feelings through his music, in the most uplifting of ways.

As many trials and tribulations as he has through, DJ Joo Kang is someone to admire for his strength, tenacity, and true love for the music.


Artist Q&A

 You were born in NJ originally. What was the reason for the big move to the west coast ?  Do you miss the east coast ?

Although I was born back east I was raised mostly on the west coast in Orange County.  I did briefly move back to the east coast from the ages of 12-16 and lived near Philadelphia. As far as the reasons for the move, the same as most I imagine, searching for greener pastures.  I do miss the season change and some elements of the East and would love to play east coast cities, but I think I am definitely a west coaster at heart.  I am definitely a happier person in warmer weather.

Growing up, did you always have a love for electronic music ? What was your favorite music to listen to ?

I would say I had a love for all types of music.  I definitely listened to a lot of rock and metal when I was younger which I imagine helped contribute to my love of dubstep.  My earliest electronic influence has to be Prodigy.  They were so edgy for their time and really helped define a whole generation of music, which we are still building on today.  I have always been a fan of melody as well so some of those rock ballads everyone likes to make fun of I still like, which is why I like Sullivan King so much.  He is an 80s rocker living in a dubstep world.


What are some things you pull inspiration from to help create your music?

I would say it’s a hodgepodge of different styles of music.  My listening habits don’t always reflect what I write and play, at least not directly.  I like to pull elements from different styles and try to implement them into my production.  I have spent a lot of time over the last few months on sound design and really focusing into my own sound so I would say that definitely has a large influence on my recent projects.  Lately, I have been writing drops first and kind of working my way backwards.  At least that is my work flow right now, this is an ever moving target for me.

Transitioning from House, to Trap and then ultimately to Dubstep, how did your listeners react to your changing styles of music ?

When I made the change, I didn’t have a very big following so people were pretty receptive to it as it was mainly just my friends.  My transition was a combination of exploration and driven by a bit of demand.  I think the first couple years an artist really tries to go for it they find themselves changing in the process, I like to think of it as artist growth.  I don’t think I would appreciate what I write today as much if I hadn’t already written music like that in the past.  I am sure I will write house again in the future because I love all music. I just know dubstep is my calling and I am happy to answer.

What performance or show made you come to realize that dubstep was your calling ? Can you recall how it felt the first time you place dubstep for the first time?

That one is easy, it was a show in LA almost 3 years ago.  It was a bass show and most of the DJs on before me were playing trap and I was watching the crowd and noticing that they were kinda chill for lack of a better word. So I said to myself, let’s bring the energy up and go all dubstep tonight.  Things wound up getting crazy that night and I knew it was my musical calling to make people head bang.  I had never felt such energy from a crowd before and was covered in sweat, I would be happy reliving that every night.  That still is probably my favorite gig to date.

What are some of the things you feel most accomplished about thus far in your music career ? Do you have anything big in the works right now ?

While I haven’t yet had any huge accomplishments like working with Insomniac or playing large festivals, I have played out of town a few times and it was always an amazing experience, so I would definitely love to plan a tour in the very near future.  I do have a few shows coming in the next few moths that will have me opening for some bigger acts which should be a great stepping stone for me.  Unfortunately I don’t have any dates yet so you will just have to keep an eye on my social media. 🙂

Random Question! Who would you like to collaborate with musically with one day ?

Within my genre, there is so much talent, I would honestly be thrilled to work with almost anyone but if you were to force me to name names I would have to say Kompany, Pixel Terror, or NGHTMRE.  I have seen NGHTMRE live a few times and every time he puts 150%, I admire that.  Of any genre, Tom Morello formerly of Rage Against The Machine, they are definitely one of my all time favorite bands and Tom is a genius.


I wanted to take the time to give my condolences to you in regards to your wife passing. I’m sure that took quite the toll on you not just physically and emotionally but musically. Has this made in impact on your music at all?

Thank you so much, the end of 2018 and beginning of 2019 was challenging on multiple levels.  I essentially had to put my entire life on hold for the better part of a year.  While I had a bit of momentum when she passed away, that all came to a screeching halt and I thought for a while there my career was over.  This isn’t a business you can really take time off of when you are still trying to make it.  I was fortunate enough to meet someone amazing who has helped me put the pieces back together and inspired me to forge ahead and in many ways has made me better.  I do feel like it all has impacted my music, positively.  It feels like taking that break allowed me to progress with my writing in ways I just don’t believe I may have under different circumstances.  I always try to find the silver linings, or create my own.

 Last words! The floor is yours here. Anything you’d like to say to your listeners?

First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to interview me! As far as my listeners, I love all of you! I would have nothing without you and I can’t wait to share new music with you and see all your shining faces at my shows. I am truly grateful for all the support that has been given to me the past few years and can’t wait to grow with all of you!  Join the Joo Kang Militia today!

-DJ Joo Kang

Social Media

Leave a comment